Which piece of armor is the best for beginners to start out with?

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
vw1262

Which piece of armor is the best for beginners to start out with?

Post by vw1262 »

Title says it all. I'm completely new to this, got some basic tools and a shop set up, as well as some steel. But wondering which I should start out with.

I was thinking the breastplate, since there's not much intricacy as compared to the other parts, but I'm a bit confused how "low" I should go, since there's also the plackart, faulds, etc.
Indianer
Archive Member

Re: Which piece of armor is the best for beginners to start out with?

Post by Indianer »

What steel grade is it? Do you have an oxy/propane or oxy/acetylene rig set up and working?
Keegan Ingrassia
Archive Member

Post by Keegan Ingrassia »

First off, welcome to the Archive! :D

The two pieces most people start with, and recommend, are the spangenhelm and a set of spaulders. The individual pieces are of manageable size, do not require a great deal of materials or tooling, and can be done entirely without hot work.

After you've done both, they will have taught you the basics of dishing, curling, rolling edges, riveting (both structural and articulating, and even some on leathers), matching symmetry in multiple pieces, assembly, sanding, and polishing.

If you took the time to sketch out the pieces and develop your own patterns, it will have also helped you develop your eye, and worked on creating accurate templates that fit you.
"There is a tremendous amount of information in a picture, but getting at it is not a purely passive process. You have to work at it, but the more you work at it the easier it becomes." - Mac
vw1262

Post by vw1262 »

Indianer wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 7:40 am What steel grade is it? Do you have an oxy/propane or oxy/acetylene rig set up and working?