What should I do next with these spaulders?

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
vw1262

What should I do next with these spaulders?

Post by vw1262 »

This is my first time making spaulders. I did some dishing and the pictures are what I have so far. I know I need to punch holes (should of done earlier) and rivet, but that comes last as I understand. My guess is I need to do some planishing? Also, my curves are exactly symmetrical. I'm kinda stuck on how to proceed, and feel like I need something like a ball stake to proceed. All I have right now is a dishing form carved into a wood stump, but it isn't very smooth.
Attachments
IMG_5190.jpg
IMG_5192.jpg
IMG_5189.jpg
wcallen
Archive Member

Re: What should I do next with these spaulders?

Post by wcallen »

As usual, a lot will depend on what you are trying to achieve. Personally, for most styles of spaulder (there are exceptions) I would want more depth in the cop.
Look here for a later style -
https://www.european-armour.com/A-56.html
or even later:
https://www.european-armour.com/A-324.html

Yours will be different, but you can see that they are rounder in profile.
Once you have the depth you want, you need to even the pieces up. This can be done from the inside onto a flat or somewhat dished surface, or from the outside over a ball/dome/mushroom surface. A lot of people will end up collecting lots of different ball stakes, but if you get used to working from the inside you can do almost everything onto the face of an anvil - or even the surface of a stump. To do this you will likely want a hammer with a very broadly domed face. I re-grind the faces of cheap or used ball piens for that.
You can see some of my most basic hammers here. I mostly use the "flat" faces on the left two for inside work:
https://www.european-armour.com/Constru ... ammers.jpg

Wade
wcallen
Archive Member

Post by wcallen »