A doubt concerning maille and voiders

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
Signo
Archive Member

A doubt concerning maille and voiders

Post by Signo »

A doubt just leaped in my mind: During the XV° century, we see for a certain time, italian armours with maille short sleeves under the pauldron but over the arm harness, but how they protected the inside of the elbow and in early times the biceps? Did they use voiders for their arms? If this is the case the armpit would be protected with 2 layers of maille?
If this is how they did it, how do you avoid the maille to lock over eachother binding movements?
Signo
Archive Member

Post by Signo »

Uhm what is the problem? The question is not clear, or nobody knows the answer?
Sean Powell
Archive Member

Post by Sean Powell »

Well I'm not certain of the question and I'm not experienced enough to guess at answers. Do you have specific suits in mind or artwork you can link to for reference?

I THINK that maile in the elbow disappears from use before it does so from armpits and I THINK that is roughly contemporary with elbow wings that wrap all the way to the inside but I would have to look at a number of suits just to see if there is a positive corelation in dates.

Having voiders that cover the armpit and yet pass over the rearbrace does not imply that there can't be maile sewn to the foundation cloting at the elbows... just that it is a seperate piece. A lot of that is going to be dictated by fashion as much as function.

Have you thought to also check for maile in other locations (groin, back of knees, neck) that might give a clue?

Sorry I can't be more help.
Sean
Cet
Archive Member

Post by Cet »

I suspect that the mail was double in some of these spots- i.e sewn to the garment as voiders inside the arm as well as being worn as sleeves overlapping the upper cannon.