Newbie Longsword wanting advice against S&S

For those of us who wish to talk about the many styles and facets of recreating Medieval armed combat.
mookierah

Newbie Longsword wanting advice against S&S

Post by mookierah »

I posted this in the Ask Paul Bellatrix forum, but I figure that it couldn't hurt to ask this forum as well.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Greetings Sir Paul,

I'm a very new SCA fighter that has just gotten his armor (our group didn't have a loaner set, so up till now I've had very little experience with SCA heavy fighting) and I was wondering if you had any tips on how to approach/engage a sword and board opponent.

My area seems to fancy ridiculously huge shields that, for the most part, defends their entire left side (my right) when they are in a neutral position. I know that my weapon has a slight reach advantage (I'm using a very light longsword, more akin to Marc de Arundel than your typical SCA Greatsword) so I can engage them somewhat safely, but so far it feels that my opening strikes are limited to pokes and prods that I use to either A: attempt to manipulate where they place their shield to open up a spot to quickly attack, or B: coerce them into engaging me and take advantage of the openings they have whenever they overextend themselves or are in mid-swing.

Option A doesn't yield much returns. Their shields are so large that just a simple quick move covers my attack and they are quick to return it back into neutral position, much faster I could ever hope to attack. I've seen Marc use this to great effect in vids by attacking the top of people's shields in order to trick them into dropping their shield lower than neutral so he can thrust at their face(something that is very similar to what I was taught in MMA to manipulate my opponent to allow me to get a takedown), but it's simply not working on these guys.