New To Armoring, Trying Hardened Leather

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
Ja'ida

New To Armoring, Trying Hardened Leather

Post by Ja'ida »

Hi all. I have been enjoying reading the archive for a couple of months now. Just joined recently. I am starting a hardened leather kit for my husband.

Anyway, we started with hardened vambraces. Now that they are completely dry, I'm not happy with them. They are hard I'll give them that, but they are not 'nice' looking. I don't like how dry they are, but I'm unsure what to put on them as I don't want them to get softer. I also want to know how to finish the edges.

Also, to make them harder (there are some softer spots on them) would wax hardening them help?

I have a load of new leather working tools, but don't know where to start. Is there anyone out there experienced in finishing hardened leather?

Thanks for any help!

Ja'ida
Richard de Scolay
Archive Member

Post by Richard de Scolay »

I'm no expert, but based on my few attempts it sounds like you over cooked them. During my last batch I did a bunch of sample pieces where I left them in the hot water for increasingly longer. The ones that were in too long dried out as you describe it and were quite brittle as well.

My experience and what I've read from others leads me to believe this this is a fairly imprecise process and the best way to figure out what works best for the particular piece of leather you are hardening is to have enough to run a few tests first to find the right temp/time combination before doing the actual piece.

Good luck...
Ja'ida

Post by Ja'ida »

I'm no expert, but based on my few attempts it sounds like you over cooked them. During my last batch I did a bunch of sample pieces where I left them in the hot water for increasingly longer. The ones that were in too long dried out as you describe it and were quite brittle as well.