Edge roll on stainless buckler

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
Hew
Archive Member

Edge roll on stainless buckler

Post by Hew »

I finally got back down to the basement and cut out a disk for my next buckler (for Rapier). It certainly helped that I was able to borrow an old Stanley Unishear from my workplace to do it.

It's 18 ga. stainless (don't know the type any more specific than that). I cut it 13" in diameter, and drew a circle 1/2 inch in from the edge, which is where I'm thinking I want the roll to come to. I expect I'll use a coathanger wire core, since it worked fairly well for the 18 ga. mild steel buckler I made the last time (my second ever finished project, which I made for someone's birthday present). This is my first project in stainless steel, except for cutting, and bending, and punching some Lorica shoulder pieces for a friend - not too challenging.)

Yes, I have studied http://www.ageofarmour.com/education/ar ... dges1.html . I've also guessed that this kind of roll is not the easiest to do.

Ultimately, I'm hoping to emboss (again, something new) something like a "Green Man" face onto the umbo. Should be fun, working on a complex-curved surface like that.

Here's the question: Is it worth my while to attempt to anneal it with a plain-old-vanilla plumber's propane torch with the standard pencil nozzle?
"It is a primitive form of thought that things exist or do not exist." - Sir Arthur Eddington
mattmaus
Archive Member

Post by mattmaus »

You will probably not get a full on anneal with just the torch.

I think that even mild steel takes a bit slower cooling to get a full anneal. I usualy toss stuff in the forge, get it up to heat, then turn the burners off, letting it cool down with the firebrick/refractory inside the still hot forge.

Some other alloys used primarily for hot forging tools need to cool slowly for better than a day or possibly even more. (I'm thinking like H13)