The start of a Journey: professional armouring

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
Gustovic
Archive Member

The start of a Journey: professional armouring

Post by Gustovic »

Hello everyone.

My name is Augusto Boer Bront, I'm Italian, I'm 20, and right now I'm studying in Sweden at HDK Gothenburg http://www.hdk.gu.se/en/programmes-cour ... t-ba-level

I started being interested in armour at age 14, when I first started reenacting in my little town, Cividale.
With the years I learned a lot on how medieval armour is supposed to look like and function properly.
After high school I had the unique opportunity to start attending an art oriented university in Sweden, with a heavy craft influence. Here at Steneby we have one of the biggest workshops in whole Europe, if not the entire world.
Long story short, I want to become a professional armourer, and not a generic one, but one of the best, at the same level as Jeff Wasson, Per Lillelund Jensen, Jiří Klepač, Albert Collins and others.

I know, it sounds arrogant, but in Italy we don't have any good armourer, and it would be nice to become a good representative of my country. I still have to decide if I really want to go back in Italy or stay In Sweden though, as I have the chance to take the Swedish citizenship fairly easily. I'm perfectly aware that it's a tough job, hard to make a living of, but I'm young, let me dream for a bit =).

The main focus of my work will be 100% historical accuracy. This means using period correct techniques and tools. I've read now both "The Knight and The Bast Furnace" and the PHD thesis from Nickolas Dupras, two key texts to understand how medieval armour really was. So in the years I hope I will be able to develop a good way of dealing with the fact that I don't want to work with modern power tools, such as grinders, welders, etc...