First Helmet Tips

This forum is designed to help us spread the knowledge of armouring.
critch
Archive Member

First Helmet Tips

Post by critch »

Hey guys I've got limited experience (very) and I just started gathering tools. Right now I'm limited to:

Ball Pein Hammers (varying sizes)
A section of tree
A vice with "anvil" (Very small)
Tin Snips (up to 18 gauge)
Hand Drill
File
6" Bench Grinder (no polishing wheel yet)
A propane torch
Jigsaw (Not sure if I bought the best blades for the job)

I've only made a simple pauldron and have cut out different shapes to test out my bench grinder and snips as well as hammers. So today I'm looking to make a helmet my new weekend project. I've got enough crazy ideas I'm sure I can't do with out a torch. Such as this: http://jollyknight.com.ua/armoury/image ... ht0547.JPG

Obviously that will be too tough for a beginner but what're some designs I could try out?

Thanks,

Nate
Last edited by critch on Thu Jul 31, 2014 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RoundTop
Archive Member

Re: First Helmet Tips

Post by RoundTop »

The pattern archive on here has a bunch of ones that work.

http://armourarchive.org/patterns/greathelm_ab/
http://armourarchive.org/patterns/greathelm_sinric/

http://armourarchive.org/patterns/norma ... _halberds/

Great Helms and Spangelhelms are the easiest to do with tools you have.
critch
Archive Member

Post by critch »

Ok awesome. Thanks for the links. Do you have any suggestions for measurement? I'd like to get into the habit of making different sized helmets.

Thanks,

Nate
losthelm
Archive Member

Post by losthelm »

What purpose is the armour being used for?
18 gauge works for decorative pieces but SCA standards require thicker material.

Updating your profile to a general location may help you find other shops locally.

The radius of your hammers likely will need to be adjusted.
Additional tools will help I purchased my better tools used at flee markets, estate sales, Craigslist, and EBay.