Plaque Belts - how do they work?

An area for discussing methods for achieving or approximating a more authentic re-creation, for armour, soft kit, equipment, ...

Moderator: Glen K

Grischa
Archive Member

Plaque Belts - how do they work?

Post by Grischa »

Hello,
I am currently planning on making a plaque belt with pewter cast plaques.
Something along the basic principle of this effigy:
http://effigiesandbrasses.com/705/956/

There are a lot of similar effigies. I want to achieve the following features.
-horizontal plaque belt (with dagger)
-separate angled sword belt
I will do Pewter casting, because I have some experience with this.

My problems are:
- I don't have (and wont reach) such a waist
- not enough time and focus :mrgreen:
- I want to be able to fight (in LARP "fights") with this, so it should not encumber me to much.

My questions are / What do you think:
- how would the scabbard of the dagger be fixed to the plaque belt?
I attached a CAD drawing of a possible setup, on the left is a ring for the mounting of a dagger scabbard.
But i am not sure about this solution.

- how is the sword belt fixed to the hip?
I think I could make some kind of "arming point" on the highest point of the belt.

So, what do you think?
And: is anyone interested to get pictures of my progress (and setbacks)?
Attachments
plaque-belt.jpg
plaque-belt.jpg (40.1 KiB) Viewed 2540 times
Karen Larsdatter
Archive Member

Re: Plaque Belts - how do they work?

Post by Karen Larsdatter »

I think (but do not know for sure) that this sort of belt would have involved individual plaques set on a belt -- probably a silk woven belt, possibly a leather belt -- rather than plaques attached/hinged together directly. There used to be a similar-ish set of plaques at http://www.flg.es/ficha.asp?ID=4235 but I am unable to check that site from work.

http://larsdatter.com/plaque-belts.htm has more examples, in any case.
Larsdatter.com: read the linkspages, and follow me on Facebook & Tumblr.
Grischa